>Life: The Next Chapter

>And so, I am done.

I find that completing my comprehensive exams gives me an odd feeling. I felt ecstatic, if more than a little surreal, upon finally completing my MA. But now that my MLS is essentially within reach–just getting those exams passed and finishing two more months of school–I don’t have quite the same feeling.

I feel emptied–I don’t mean that in a negative sense. I feel that all my life, all twenty-seven years, have been preparing. Preparing for college, preparing for grad school, preparing for marriage, preparing for that elusive First Real Job. I feel, now, like all that preparation is over. It’s been a lifestyle of “someday when…” and now Someday is here.

It’s exciting, but not in a high-energy sense. I feel as though I’m standing on the edge of a very tall cliff spreading my arms and looking down, but instead of my usual goals (graduating, getting a job), I see this expanse of bright white space. It’s tranquil and freeing and oddly scary all at the same time.

And now: my Real Life begins.
I wonder what it’ll be like?

Leave a Reply

