>A Quiet Pursuit

>With TV done for the summer–the sole exception being Eureka, which starts again soon–my media diet will likely be turning back toward movies and printed matter. Here’s what I read recently:

  • Kate Reading is a fantastic reader, whether she’s reading this classic or one of Robert Jordan’s gigantic fantasy epics. And if her name isn’t a stage name for her audiobooks… that’s just some ridiculous Fate, there.

  • New Spring by Robert Jordan (audiobook; re-listened for the second time)
    • See above for the excellent reader; one of RJ’s best novels.

  • I, Coriander
    • Read by Juliet Stevenson (aka the annoying Mrs. Eliot in 1996’s Emma, and Kiera Knightley’s mom in Bend it Like Beckham), who does so fantastically. A great fairy tale set in Olivery Cromwell’s England.

  • American Born Chinese by Gene Yang (graphic novel)
    • I read this because I’d heard it was simply fantastic, and I saw some of Gene Yang’s original art while in San Francisco. But nothing prepared me for the complete amazing-ness of this book or its gorgeously simple art. It ties together three seemingly disparate stories into a genius whole in a way that reminds me (in its genius execution, not in content) of the final sequences of Moore’s Watchmen, where the art and the words tie together into this exquisitely-planned whole. Definitely on my need-to-own list now.

  • Kristy’s Great Idea (graphic novel)
    • Yes, I read a Babysitter’s Club graphic novel. Sorry, I’m not ashamed–I loved this series in middle school, and though I roll me eyes at them now, the graphic novel version is simply charming. The script has been slightly updated–but not annoyingly so–and the art is, like Gene Yang’s, very clean and simple, and immensely appealing. I wouldn’t mind owning it, and I plan on reading the next one when it comes out (even though I learned The Truth About Stacey fifteen years ago).

  • To Dance: A Ballerina’s Graphic Novel
    • Yes, it’s been a month for girl-y comics–well, I am a girl, after all. This one’s gorgeous and poetic, and brought back the decade I spent in ballet classes. It also gave me a strong desire to re-watch The Company, a similarly poetic movie about a ballet company.

    One thought on “>A Quiet Pursuit

    1. Amanda (the librarian) says:

      >American Born Chinese won the Printz Award this year – I want to get it for my library but will wait a while to see if it comes out in hardbound. I did buy To Dance: A Ballerina’s Graphic Novel because it was available in hardcover and was a Sibert honor book this year, and your review encouraged me to read it. Fast read, very educational (I stopped ballet after grade 2 – I had to choose between that and Brownies, and the tomboy in me who liked to camp won!).

    Leave a Reply

    