Getting to Know You, Getting to Know All About You

After sixteen consecutive years spent in college, I’m in the post-classwork portion of my terminal degree (after a BA, MA, and MLS, I’m on my way to being a PhD candidate working on my dissertation!). Accordingly, I’ve been reflecting this semester on where I am in my life, and where I’m looking for the future. Since I’ve been out of the blogging world for the majority of the past year, I thought this would be a good time to re-introduce myself as well as chart my path ahead.

What’s your name & age?
Starr Hoffman, a fabulous 32!

Is that your real name?
Well, yes and no. I’ll spare you the longer and more factual answer… The short and entertaining answer is that I was born in Southern California in the late 1970s, and although my parents deny it, they were totally hippies.

What’s your day job?
I’m a librarian–to be precise, I’m Head of the Government Documents Department at the University of North Texas Libraries. I manage 6 fulltime staff, a passel of awesome student workers, and I try to balance paperwork, reference questions, and digitization projects. It’s awesome and overwhelming, which is pretty much what I look for in a job.

What’s your nighttime alter-ego?
Um… Insanely Busy Gal? Seriously, though, this is where my online name “Geeky Arist Librarian” comes in… I’m finishing my PhD in Higher Education (yes, that’s college about college–very “meta”), I write novels off and on, and if that wasn’t enough I have an obsession with art & crafts. Knitting, painting, photography, refinishing furniture, comics, you name it, I’ll try to make it by hand in my not-so-spare time. Oh, and the “geeky” part? I’m a huge sci-fi nerd in all its forms; movies, TV, comics, gaming, etc. (Case in point: I’d prefer to answer this question with “Batgirl.”)

So… I’m guessing you don’t have kids.
No, I thought I’d be a responsible human and admit that anything I have to remember to feed and clothe probably wouldn’t thrive in my care. That includes pets; I’ve been able to keep a few plants alive, but the stats are pretty 50/50 at the moment.

I do have an amazingly super-cool husband named Alex, but since he’s capable of feeding & clothing himself, I don’t think I can take any credit there. I’m also convinced he’s a super-cool spy because he works in Ukraine 3 weeks out of 4, but he’s too smart to let me in on the secret. I’m incapable of keeping anything a secret for more than 5 minutes, and after 10 years of marriage he’s pretty hip to that fact.

What do you want to be when you grow up?
Well, I won’t grow up EVER, so it’s safe to say: author, academic library dean, educational researcher, professor, physicist, photographer, and star of an animated series.

What’s your favorite book?
I never answer this question without cheating. Librarian perogative!

  • Favorite fairytale retelling: Beauty and/or Spindle’s End, both by Robin McKinley.
  • Fave classic: Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austin.
  • Fave modern lit: The Time Traveler’s Wife, by Audrey Niffenegger.
  • Fave fantasy: The Hobbit by JRR Tolkein and/or The Voyage of the Dawn Treader by CS Lewis.
  • Fave coming-of-age book: A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle.
  • Fave comic series: Neil Gaiman’s Sandman ties with Bill Willingham’s Fables.
  • Fave non-fiction: Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, by Annie Dillard.

How would I find you in a crowd?
Look for the spiky short red hair–that’s all that’s visible in a crowd, since I’m like 5-foot-tiny-inches. And I tend to wear colorful scarves and necklaces and such–I’m fairly addicted to accessories.

This post is really long… you didn’t figure out how to end this ahead of time, did you?
Now you’re catching on.

Leave a Reply

