Webcomics

I love comics, and I love the interwebs. Therefore it should be no surprise that I love me some webcomics. Back in those pre-PhD-days–*sigh*–I followed about 15 of them regularly. That’s pretty unsustainable currently–so here are a few of my favorites that I still read on a semi-regular basis.

xkcd
It’s all about the interwebs, and nerds of various flavors, drawn with beautifully-simplistic faceless stick figures that convey far more emotion than should be possible. I laugh out loud at many of these, and even louder at the mouse-over comments. I don’t get about 10% of them because the math/science can get intense, but that’s part of the quirky awesomeness of this comic.

Wondermark
Wondermark is full of mutton chops, acerbic wit, and creative re-use of Victorian imagery. The anachronistic dialog adds an extra-delicious layer of quirky humor. Also, shirts!

Unshelved
It’s not just a library comic strip, it’s chock-full of geeky goodness and a woodchuck-costume-wearing library mascot. Also check out their shop, particularly if you are of the librarian-persuasion. I love wearing my “Book Club” shirt to work… “first rule of book club: do not talk about book club.” Genius.

Penny Arcade
Okay, I’m not a gamer, despite my love of Mario and the ever-present Legend of Zelda cartridge in my GBA. But my love of geek culture and sarcasm eventually brought me to Penny Arcade (thanks, Jared!). Actually I don’t read this one online much–I prefer the print volumes which have fantastic commentary on each strip, and which occasionally help this n00b understand what the heck’s going on.

Honorable Mentions

  • Dinosaur Comics
    • The art is always the same crappy clip-art of dinosaurs, which talk about the weirdest array of topics EVAR. Somehow this works.
  • Digger
    • One of the most gorgeous works I’ve ever seen–like digital woodcuts, plus a butt-kicking wombat with a dry sense of humor.
  • Questionable Content
    • It’s a long saga full of anthropomorphic iPods, indie music fans, and angst–much more fun than it has any right to be. Yes, I also own this shirt.
  • Joe Loves Crappy Movies
    • The title says it all: unapologetic riffing on popcorn flicks. Good times!
  • The Night Bookmobile
    • This is actually an online graphic novel version of a short story by the author of The Time Traveler’s Wife. It is poignant and beautiful.
8 thoughts on “Webcomics

  1. Josh Rose says:

    Awesome! I have not heard of all of these, so am pointing my browser in that direction (particularly Unshelved). My current fave is Sydney Padua’s 2-D Goggles. It’s a steampunk history of mathematics starring Lovelace and Babbage? It’s a steampunk history of mathematics starring Lovelace and Babbage!

    • Starr the geekyartistlibrarian says:

      I know, I was a bit in shock over that. I’m hoping Ursula Vernon starts up another big project–I’ve really enjoyed reading her kid’s book “Nurk,” but I’ll miss the particularly evocative art of Digger. 😦

    • Starr the geekyartistlibrarian says:

      Sam & Fuzzy–wow, I haven’t read that in far too long! The rest I haven’t heard of and will promptly check into. 🙂

Leave a Reply

