The Coming Zombie Apocalypse

Alex and I have been zombie fans for awhile. I’m not sure when it started for him, but for me, it was the first Resident Evil movie that sealed the deal. That final scene was an awesome question-mark ending: *SPOILER* Alice, having awoken in an empty hospital, is wearing a medical gown and holding a shotgun, standing alone in the silent chaos of an abandoned city. In fact, that’s why I loved 28 Days Later, which essentially opened on a similar scene (as does The Walking Dead, which Alex and I are currently watching).

Sucks to be stuck alone in a zombie apocalypse in a breezy hospital gown.

The Roomie & I had a zombie movie night last year, & I utilized that scene similarity in our watching order:

  • Resident Evil I (to get in a kick-butt mood)
  • 24 Days Later (to amp up the drama and segue from one abandoned-city-scene to another)
  • Planet Terror (to transition into humor)
  • Shaun of the Dead (to end on a semi-sweet note so that we could SLEEP)

One of the favorite “what if?” games Alex and I like to play is, what would we do in a zombie apocalypse? We’ve played this game in the two houses we’ve owned, mapping out what areas we’d block off for security, which windows would provide best look-out or shooting vantages, and how to get needed supplies. (In our current home, we’ve debated the merits of blocking both staircases or only one, so we have an escape to get more supplies.)

We’ve got several friends who happily indulge in the game with us. Among them are a couple in Austin who have fantastic skills to supplement our own: Alex, Todd, & I shoot (both zombies & food), Todd & I clean and process the game animals, Jamie & Todd cook, Jaime & I would sew/knit clothing and document events for history. I think The Roomie’s job may be head storyteller and perhaps to attract magical unicorns. Plus, she’s read more distopian stuff than I have, so she’s probably got a lot of strategic survivalist thinking locked in that awesome brain of hers.

You can probably guess that I’ve got the audiobook of World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War on my iPhone. Call it research.

For the record, my Zombie Weapon of Choice: my 1943-made Russian Mosin-Nagant carbine. It makes a Big Badda-Boom.

What would your role be in our zombie team? What are your favorite zombie movies/comics/books/etc? What’s your zombie weapon of choice? Or do you think we’re completely loony?

UPDATE: take the twitpoll now to share your survival skilz!

19 thoughts on “The Coming Zombie Apocalypse

  1. Claire says:

    Yes. YES. Head Storyteller. I shall document these events so that once civilization recovers, our travails will become the stuff of LEGEND.

    Also, after I attract the UNICORNS, we could potentially have the opportunity to witness THIS: http://amzn.to/gzrCdV

  2. Shaun says:

    Don’t forget Fido as alternate world where zombies are used as servants or for gameplay . . . Stumbs the Zombie!

  3. Colleen says:

    So funny. And true. When my male roomies and I were house shopping back in 2004, we declined to make an offer on a “perfect” house more than once because it was considered indefensible-upon-zombie-attack. Like the house where the basement stairs were just off the kitchen landing, with no separating door/walls. Or the house where the entire back side was glass. Or the house that was too far from the closest ammo supply. (Our realtor thought we were bizarre…). I’m a fan of Romero, but I loved the remake of Dawn of the Dead – I am terrified by fast zombies. 28 Days Later and 28 Weeks later are also high on the list.

    • Starr Hoffman says:

      FANTASTIC. If you want to join our team, I’ll make room for ya! 😉

      I, too, loved the Dawn of the Dead remake. I resisted 28 Days Later at first because it seemed like a cheap sequel, but I actually liked the execution quite a bit.

  4. Alex says:

    Ah, the Nagant..made in Tula for my Samovar.

    Just remember, there is no single weapon for every zombie situation. Close quarters escape = 12ga pump. Incursion for food/supplies = various ARs (AR57 for me with FiveSeven as side arm). Sniping perch play date = Nagant for you, M1 Garand for me. Zombie bears or huge zombies named Bubba = S&W 460. Zombie sniping at 2 miles just ‘cuz we can = 50cal BMG (coming soon!).

  5. Cap'n Neurotic says:

    In addition to the zed-word flicks I talked about here, my favorite zombie comedies include the aforementioned Shaun of the Dead and Fido, as well as Zombieland and Dance of the Dead, which is about a prom overrun by the undead, with only the geeks, goths, and other prom holdouts left to save the day.

    • Starr the geekyartistlibrarian says:

      oooo, now i need to add Dance of the Dead to our Zombie Movie Night Part Deux!!! and man, thanks for reminding me about Zombieland–it wasn’t released before our first movie night, but MAN do i love that movie. especially the whole Ghostbusters sequence.

  6. livesinstone says:

    It’s nice to know that I’m not the only one planning for zombie apocalypse. I think you covered my favorite movies but aside from the Walking Dead graphic novels (which you probably have already read) some other goodies would be Jonathan Maberry’s Patient Zero or Dead of Night, Jesse Petersen’s Married with Zombie series or Can You Survive the Zombie Apocalypse? By Max Brallier (which is written as a choose your own adventure) if you haven’t already tried them. Thanks for the great post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

