Wishful Reading

My favorite “what if” question isn’t “what if you had a million dollars.” It’s “if you had all the time in the world, what would you read?” Granted, the million dollars might help get me to the point of being able to afford all that free reading time, but after paying off the mortgage and student loans, would there really be anything left? In either case, let’s just go with the “what would you read” question.

Mine is divided into various aspects of my personality. Why? Because it’s fun, and I like lists. Ha!

The Geeky Conspiracy Theorist

The Guilty Academic 

The Comic Geek

The Nerdy Kid Into Unicorns & Fairy Tales

The Thoughtful Citizen

The Informed & Creative Writer

The Curious Learner

6 thoughts on “Wishful Reading

  1. Todd Enoch says:

    I heartily endorse both Finder (I’m a few trades behind on the series, but the two Sin-Eater volumes were great) and Storm Front (Dresden Files are awesome!)

    I’m in the same boat with World War Z — read quite a bit of it a while back, need to go back and finish it at some point.

    My “wishful reading” list is mainly made of of classics that I, as an English major, am embarrassed never to have read. That and all those Essential Marvel comic collections

    • Starr Hoffman says:

      oh man, Todd you just made me feel sooooo much better about WWZ. 😉 i loved it, but man, after awhile my brain was like “NO MOAR ZOMBIES NOW, PLZ? KTHNXBAI.” i immediately turned to re-read Stardust as counter-programming.

  2. Whereismyrobot says:

    I am listening to Stiff at work, but I can only take about a chapter a day. It is pretty gruesome but fascinating.

    I got Robopolcalypse on ARC, but haven’t picked it up yet. Maybe after Capstone.

  3. Troy Sims says:

    mmm.. would have to say the following are on my list:
    Asimov’s I Robot series
    Harrisons Stainless Steel Rat series
    Lewis’ Narnia series (yeah I know I can’t believe I haven’t read it yet either)
    Finally finish Adam’s Mostly Harmless
    Yeah World War Z isn’t in my list cause I finished it!! weeeee..
    and I finished Storm Front, but need to finish the series!!! haha

  4. Jared says:

    Every time I think to myself that I should read a certain book, it gets subconsciously moved from the entertainment column to the homework column, and the chances of me ever reading it drop precipitously. Then I read something else that catches my attention before I have time to think about it. I don’t want to jinx anything by actually stating that I want to read it, but here are some of the things on the semi-permanent homework list:

    Rereading the Lord of the Rings. I am over twice as old as I was when I first read it, and I’ve been meaning to reread it for a quarter of my life. Solve for x.

    Timeline. I’ve had it on loan from the Hoffman library for a number of years, and have yet to open it.

    H2G2. ( ,=_=) If you’ll forgive the self-indulgent emoticon.

Leave a Reply

