Reading Like a Kid

For the past few months, during the few minutes I’ve had to read (primarily waiting in lines or on places and trains), I’ve been rediscovering contemporary middle-grade (MG) fiction. I’ve reread classic MGs like A Wrinkle in Time and From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler for years, but my reading for the past few years has been primarily academic, literary fiction, adult fantasy, or YA (with the exception of the early Harry Potter books).

Here are a few of the most memorable ones:

Up next is Breadcrumbs, which I can’t wait to read because 1) it heavily references Hans Christian Andersen’s The Snow Queen, 2) NPR gave a great review, and 3) my own ExRoomie and Framily member Claire is in raptures over it.

I love MG books that feature strong friendship (particularly platonic cross-gender friendship), adventure, wondrous surroundings, humor, creepy villains, and did I mention adventure already?

What’s your favorite MG title, either classic or new? 

6 thoughts on “Reading Like a Kid

  1. Claire says:

    You will LOVE Breadcrumbs. Let me know the SECOND you finish reading it!

    Also, thank you for the Cavendish shoutout. ❤

    I SO need to read The Mixed-up Files…, like, ASAP.

    So much YES to platonic cross-gender friendships! Harry and Hermione, anyone? They are the best.

    • Starr Hoffman says:

      YES YES YES you need to read Mixed-Up Files, I think you will heart it greatly.

      And thank you for actually talking about the platonic friendship thing, I’d long loved it in literature without really thinking about it–and it reminded me of what bugs me often, its common lack in YA. (YAY ROWLING!)

      Side-tracked from Breadcrumbs, because I got on an Alanna kick and am now reading book 3… but it won’t take me long to finish that series and then get on to Breadcrumbs!!

    • Starr Hoffman says:

      Which one? The marbled-pages-books photo was taken several months ago at UNT Libraries (gov docs, of course!). I took the photo of the child reading “Hoot” a couple years ago as a promotional shot for the first Denton Reads event. That’s a friend’s nephew sitting on the steps of the Denton Court House.

  2. Chris says:

    So, I’ve been recently reading a bunch of MG books too. Mostly in part to Claire, Kait, or your recommendations and I love it! I’ve missed reading just the fun, adventurous books that every kid gets lost in and adores. It’s been a really fun escape, but it’s also re-fueled some creativity and has reminded me of things I grew up loving and what I want to do when I grow up. I still have quite the list to read (including Cavendish when it comes out), but I’m enjoying filling up my Kindle and reading them.

    Keep the recommendations coming! ❤

Leave a Reply

