About… Dr. Starr Hoffman

I’m an academic librarian researching the role of libraries in higher education. I’m a recent Las Vegas transplant; born in California, raised in Texas, recently moved from New York City, and spent a year in Kharkov, Ukraine finishing my PhD in Higher Education. I’m currently the Head of Planning and Assessment at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas. I blog about academia, books, expat life, geekery, and travel.

I’ve been a librarian, department head, muralist, computer lab tutor, and disillusioned fine art student. When not researching, I’m traveling, writing, photographing, scuba diving, cooking, reading, geeking out, painting, and discovering new hobbies with my husband. My dissertation studied the training, educational attainment, and leadership traits of academic library deans.

This website hosts both my blog and my online portfolio (where you can view my experienceeducationprofessional development, and other activities). All opinion stated on this website is my own, and does not necessarily reflect my institutional affiliations.

Information is the currency of democracy. ~ Thomas Jefferson

images of Starr

Research Interests

  • Academic Library Leadership
  • Assessment of Academic Libraries
  • Emerging Models of Research Support
  • Role of Libraries in Higher Education
  • Scholarly Communication & Social Media

Countries I’ve visited…
Visited Countries

Visited Countries Map from TravelBlog

