2012 NaNoWriMo and AcWriMo Goals

While I wait on copy edits for my dissertation, I’m going to participate in National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) for the first time! I’ve always wanted to–we had support groups and coffee for participants at the UNT Libraries each year–but work plus school never left me with the will to add a novel to the mix. This year, I’m planning to split my writing goals between NaNo (typical goal is 50,000 words by the end of the month) and AcWriMo–Academic Writing Month. Here’s how I’m splitting it up:

  • NaNoWriMo: 40,000 words
  • AcWriMo: 10,000 words (1 book chapter, 1 article)
  • dissertation copy-edits (when I get the draft back): no word count, just counting it as productive related-to-writing time!

Since I was traveling, I didn’t actually start until yesterday, and I’m going to play by my own rules (a NaNo rebel! I’m in good company…) and give myself until December 12th to meet these goals. That gives me until two days before my commencement to get it all done, which seems like a decent amount of time.

The chapter is for an upcoming book on leadership in academic libraries–my chapter is on recommendations for education and mentoring of future library leaders. It will draw on my dissertation research, specifically my last chapter that discusses results and implications. I’ve got several articles percolating in my brain that are based on my dissertation research… I’m narrowing it down to either focusing on my results related to education of library deans, or an article that reports an overview of all my results. I’d like to publish the educational one first, but that one will require some additional stats crunching beyond what I already calculated for my dissertation. So we’ll see how that goes, crammed in with all the other writing.

I’ve got a teeny tiny plush Chewie (as in, the Wookie) who’s going to be my writing mascot. He’s tiny enough to take along in my purse, and hopefully he’ll keep me amused and encouraged about the process. I’m going to meet awesome-framily-and-author Claire tonight for a writing date, so Chewie may meet some sparkly unicorn pals to keep him company… Nothing like some unicorns and a large furry alien to get you excited about writing a book chapter on academic library leadership! 

2 thoughts on “2012 NaNoWriMo and AcWriMo Goals

Leave a Reply

