Joining Columbia!

Things have been quiet on the blog for a bit, because news was on the horizon… Yesterday, I began my new position as Journalism & Digital Resources Librarian at Columbia University! In this capacity, I’m tweeting @JournalismLib (separate from my personal account). (Now to update my disclaimer: all opinions on this blog/ePortfolio/website are completely my own and not associated with Columbia University. Whew, that’s done!) I’m splitting my time between being embedded in the Journalism School (the Journalism Library is a room within Pulitzer Hall–yes, that Pulitzer) and the Lehman Social Sciences Library. I have some big shoes to fill–Cris Erugany, the former Journalism Librarian, was not only talented and justly beloved, she’s a fellow Star Wars/Trek enthusiast. (Was this meant to be, or what?)

PulitzerHallMosaic

I’d been looking for a position in NYC since last winter, so it’s been a lengthy job hunt. We moved to NYC without jobs, so it was a period of intense highs (look at us, being adventurous!) and lows (egads, what’s our plan B, what were we thinking?), but overall it’s been great. Alex is now VP of Product Engineering at Unison Technologiesand in addition to my Columbia position, I will be teaching Knowledge Organization at Pratt Institute‘s School of Information and Library Science this fall. I’m so excited to be starting at Columbia and Pratt! You might think from my name or artsy aesthetic that I’m a spontaneous free spirit–ahem–but actually I’m excited to get back to a regular routine.

I did a lot of thinking and reading about the academic job hunt while I was going through that process. I’m planning to share my thoughts in coming weeks here on the blog. Here are some of the topics I’m thinking about covering–please comment or email me with other suggestions or questions that you’d like to see addressed.
SuitedUp

  • Where to find open academic librarian positions
  • Special tips about a job searching in NYC (hint: it’s a whole other ball game!)
  • How to structure, manage, & organize a job hunt 
  • How to decode a position description (and analyze it against your experience, skills, and interests)
  • How to stay occupied, professionally engaged, and sane while unemployed
  • Tips for writing great CVs/resumes, cover letters, and statements of scholarly interest/research
  • Being savvy about your professional (and personal!) online presence
  • How to research an institution as a potential employer
  • What an academic job interview is like (for librarians and for faculty)
  • Some common interview questions/categories and how to prepare
  • Questions you should ask during the interview
  • What to wear to an interview (results may vary…)
  • Following up (thank yous, negotiating, and accepting or refusing an offer)

Columbia2

11 thoughts on “Joining Columbia!

  1. dalecooper57 says:

    Congratulations on your move. Hope you enjoy the routine. Sounds like you’ve got some geeky shoes to fill. Let’s hope some of that Pulitzeryness rubs off. ;~}

  2. Kathy says:

    Sounds like a great job for you! Congratulations! I know you’ll help turn out some great journalists for the future…and boy, do we need them!

  3. Daniel Cornwall says:

    Congratulations to both you and Alex for making the whole “We’re going to NEW YORK and making lives for ourselves” thing work. And work well it sounds like. Looking forward to your reflections on the academic job search process.

  4. zoe318 says:

    Just wanted to say congrats on joining Columbia. I work over in Butler! I’ve been a follower of your blog for some time. Welcome!

  5. brandie says:

    I found your blog via INALJ and would love to know more abuot how to structure, manage, & organize a job hunt! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

